Unexpected


Unexpected

EXIF: Canon EOS 60D, Lens: EF-S15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Focal length: 61mm, 1/160 sec, f/5.6, ISO 250

UNEXPECTED

Having been brought up in India, I have been used to seeing Buddha statues in various shades of natural stones, like sandstone, marble etc. At most, I had seen golden statues of either brass, or even pure gold, or more commonly wooden figurines painted with golden paint.

So, when I saw bright coloured statues of vinyl (presumably!) in a Bali market, it was ‘unexpected’ for me. In fact I joked that now nirvana is available in many colours and one could take one’s pick.

Later however I learned that actually colours have had an important role in Buddhism. Different coloured Buddha statues denote different aspects of life. For those further interested, more information may be found at this link.

This picture is being submitted as part of a 52 week challenge I am following on Facebook, theme ‘Unexpected’.

 

