Diamonds are forever…even artificial ones!


 

Artificial_MG_2510

 

EXIF: Canon EOS 60D, Lens: EF-S15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Focal length: 85mm

Manual, 1/15 sec, f/13, ISO 400, Off Camera Flash: Canon speedlite 430ex ii

Diamonds are forever… even artificial ones!

I wonder why diamonds are called forever! What makes them more permanent than say any other gem stone… or say a stainless steel needle… or even synthetic diamonds. Sure they are a pretty sight to look at, especially after they have been cut. But what gives them permanence. I believe, diamonds can get burned with relative ease. In fact if it’s a pure diamond, you shouldn’t even get any ash residues except a colourless, odourless Carbon Di-oxide gas.

The diamonds in the picture are actually synthetic diamonds which we got at a promotional event at a Singapore shopping mall. The lighting setup was rather crude. I’d inverted an opaque white polybag over these diamonds, which had been placed on a dark glass. An off camera flash was aimed at the top of the polybag from outside. I’ve taken a cellphone-shot of the setup and if anyone is interested, I can share it.

This image has actually been cropped from a larger image. I’d kept my lens at the closest focussing distance and moved the subject to achieve the maximum magnification possible. Never in my life have I missed a dedicated macro lens more.

This picture is being submitted as part of a 52 week challenge I am following on Facebook, theme ‘artificial’.

 

