Marking Speed


 

Marking Speed

Marking Speed

 

EXIF: Canon EOS 60D, Lens: EF-S15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Focal length: 28mm, 1/40 sec, f/4.5, ISO 125, White Balance: Tungsten

MARKING SPEED

This picture is being submitted as part of a 52 week challenge I am following on Facebook, theme ‘Markings’

When I came to know about this week’s theme, I was on cloud nine. A ship has everything marked!

Many markings are mandatory, required by various international conventions, while others are recommended by trade bodies. A considerable time and effort is spent in maintaining these markings. Weekly audits are carried out by ship staff for these markings. External inspectors too are keen to sight them whenever they inspect vessels. Sadly this photo couldn’t be about those markings. Last week had kept us on toes, with back to back cargo operations.

With the week running out fast, I could not come up with any better idea or time to shoot one. This image shows the Engine telegraph, with various markings for speed (barely visible, I agree). The image was shot early in the morning. I have used tungsten white balance to throw some blues, in otherwise a drab image.

 

