It rained one night!


wpid-IMG_5895WP.jpg

EXIF: Canon EOS 450D, Lens: EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS, Focal length: 18mm, 1/8 sec, f/4.5, ISO 800,

It rained one night!

This image was shot at Darling Harbour, Sydney. Earlier in the evening, my camera bag had got nicked. I’d lost two SLR lenses and a point & shoot, along with some other tid-bits. As lost as I was in my thoughts, I noticed
this boat with brilliant blue lights. The reflection on the freshly drenched ground was hard to ignore.

I’d shot this image both in RAW & JPEG. The JPEG bled too much blue out and I didn’t really like what I saw on my camera screen. Not feeling particularly upbeat that evening, I didn’t try much and gave up.

Only recently did I re-visit the RAW file and was able to process the above image. I have de-saturated the image a tiny bit. I don’t shoot much in RAW, but the kind of exposure tolerance it offers never fails to amaze me.

 

