The Red Aster


THE UNKNOWN FLOWER

EXIF: Canon EOS 60D, Lens: EF-S15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Focal length: 85mm, 1/160 sec, f/8, ISO 125

THE UNKNOWN FLOWER RED ASTER:

This picture was shot at ‘Dhanaulti Eco-Park’, in the Himalayan ranges. As I have mentioned in my earlier post, I am practically illiterate in naming flowers & trees except a few very obvious ones. You have no idea what ordeal I go through at a florist’s. 😛

Not one of the best compositions here. But I am posting here in hope that someone may be able to identify it for me.

Update (11-May-2013): Thanks to the kind efforts of my fellow blogger ‘Jackie‘, I have now been able to identify this flower as ‘Red Aster’. Other names are ‘English Daisy / Lawn Daisy / Bruisewort / Bellis perennis / Pomponette Red’.

For those interested further: (source : davesgarden.com)
Family: Asteraceae (ass-ter-AY-see-ee)
Genus: Bellis (BEL-liss)
Species: perennis (per-EN-is)
Cultivar: Pomponette Red

Feedback is always appreciated.

